The Boy Who Grew Dragons

Paperback / softback

Main Details

Title The Boy Who Grew Dragons
Authors and Contributors      By (author)   Andy Shepherd
Illustrated by   Sara Ogilvie
SeriesThe Boy Who Grew Dragons
Physical Properties
Format:Paperback / softback
Pages:224
Dimensions(mm): Height 198,Width 129
CategoriesGeneral fiction
Classic fiction
Family and home stories
Humorous stories
ISBN 9781848126497
Audience
Children / Juvenile
Illustrations 45 black and white illustrations

Publishing Details

Publisher Templar Publishing
Imprint Piccadilly Press
Publication Date 14 June 2018
NZ Release Date 14 June 2018
Publication Country United Kingdom

Description

When Tomas discovers a strange old tree at the bottom of this grandpa's garden, he doesn't think much of it. But he takes the funny fruit fro the tree back into the house - and gets the shock and delight of his life when a tiny dragon hatches! The tree is a dragonfruit tree, and Tomas has got his very own dragon, Flicker... Tomas soon finds out that life with Flicker is great fun, but also very... unpredictable. Yes, dragons are fiery, fantastical and dazzling, but they also set fire to your toothbrush, singe your porridge and leave your pants hanging from the TV aerial. Tomas has to learn how to look after Flicker - and quickly. and then something extraordinary happens - more dragonfruits appear on the tree. Tomas is officially growing dragons...

Author Biography

Andy Shepherd is a children's writer working on middle-grade fiction and picture books. She lives near Cambridge with her husband, two sons and their border collie. She spends her spare time trying to figure out how to move this beautiful city closer to the sea. Sara Ogilvie is an award-winning illustrator. She was born in Edinburgh in 1971 and now lives in Newcastle upon Tyne. Sara's many picture books include THE DETECTIVE DOG by Julia Donaldson, THE WORST PRINCESS by Anna Kemp, and IZZY GIZMO by Pip Jones. Her middle grade fiction includes Phil Earle's DEMOLITION DAD (and others in the Storey Street series). www.saraogilvie.com

Reviews

A warm-hearted and really fun story * Parents In Touch * Imaginative and charming, The Boy Who Grew Dragons is a wonderfully whimsical story that kept me smiling the whole way through * Books for Topics * Free readers will get stuck into the new series The Boy Who Grew Dragons by Andy Shepherd, about finding magic in the most ordinary of places * Angels and Urchins * an inspired concept, this is a funny and heartwarming tale of magic, family and friendship * Madge Reviews * This is a sumptuous start to a new series, bursting with energy and humour, yet tinged with the darker side of life too. There's a grumpy neighbour, aware but preoccupied parents, an eclectic group of friends, a strange gardening guide, nomenclature of dragon pets - so many facets all covered and explored. A perfect example of domesticity interrupted with a touch of magic. Dragon fruit will never look the same again! * Minerva Reads * Andy Shepherd's dragon-debut is an absolute delight and is just the very start to a series that I'm sure is going to be a roaring success. It's a series that - pardon the pun - I just want to drag-on and on and on! * The Reader Teacher * A hilarious rip-roaring adventure. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Cressida Cowell * South Wales Evening Post * A warm-hearted debut... lovely, expressive, characterful * Sunday Times * The Boy Who Grew Dragons is one of those magical children's books that warms the cockles of your heart no matter what age you might be. It's fast, it's funny, it makes you feel good, and for the brief time, it takes to read its reassuring innocence comforts you into believing that everything is right with the world. This is Andy Shepherd's first book and she knocks it out of the park from page one * Starburst Magazine * a spectacular start to a new series * The Sun * [An] ingenious premise is brought to life with great skill and humour * The Scotsman * Shepherd delights in describing crazy situations, and the book's heartfelt message is one of care and friendship * Literary Review * Fantastic fire-breathing fun with wonderful illustrations by Sara Ogilvie, this is a lovely new series for anyone who ever wanted a pet dragon * WRD Magazine * A kind of Pete's Dragon with extra giggles, The Boy Who Grew Dragons takes on the rather hair-singeing challenges of finding that your grandad's garden has suddenly started sprouting fire-breathing mischief-makers and the illustrations by Sara Ogilvie really make it come alive * Waterstones Blog * charming sublime * Event Magazine * Hilarious, warm and full of magic... featuring delightful line drawings * The Metro * My son and I really liked this. It's at heart a simple story, but has some rather charming elements. Tomas raises his baby dragon, keeping him a secret, though his little sister finds out and her precious little ways are rather adorable.Friends of course eventually become suspicious - especially when there's explosive dragon poo to be found in Tomas's school bag! One of our favourite scenes, I think. The scenes of baby Flicker causing mayhem are very much in line with the age group's humour * Nudge Book * Irresistible... everything you want in a book for a newly independent reader - tender realism, honouring children's inner feelings and anarchic magic, both beautiful and regrettable. Sara Ogilvie's illustrations capture both enchantment and stench... A modern classic * The Guardian * A proper children's book... the humour and Sara Ogilvie's illustrations are just right * New Statesman *