To view prices and purchase online, please login or create an account now.



Man Down

Paperback / softback

Main Details

Title Man Down
Authors and Contributors      By (author) James Goodhand
Physical Properties
Format:Paperback / softback
Pages:400
Dimensions(mm): Height 198,Width 129
ISBN/Barcode 9780241383339
ClassificationsDewey:823.92
Audience
Children / Juvenile

Publishing Details

Publisher Penguin Random House Children's UK
Imprint Penguin Books Ltd
NZ Release Date 16 September 2022
Publication Country United Kingdom

Description

An ambitious, thought provoking novel perfect for fans of Louise O'Neill or the Netflix series The End of the F***ing World. Will Parks is being followed. Someone is watching him, feeding him glimpses of the future - steering him down paths he would never have dared to take alone. But these supernatural tip-offs are doing more for Will than just boosting his popularity, or keeping him out of trouble in the dead-end town he calls home. They have a purpose. Because a tragedy is coming. One that only Will can prevent. But only if he is ready to step up. Only if he's prepared to become the man he's meant to be.

Author Biography

James Goodhand lives in Surrey with his wife and young son. A mechanic by day, much of his work has been written at an oil-stained workbench whilst ignoring a queue of broken cars in need of his attention. James is also a keen musician, regularly gigging as a rhythm and blues pianist.

Reviews

Stylish, thought-provoking thriller territory . . . Highly recommended -- Claire Hennessy * The Irish Times * Staggeringly good . . . had me hanging on every word -- Louisa Reid, author of Wrecked and Lies Like Love Man Down is truly special. A love letter to youth, life, love and hope, it's utterly compelling, completely original and will undoubtedly be one of the standout books of 2022. An absolute must read. * Adam Simcox, author of The Dying Squad * Good books make you feel something. Great books change the way you feel about everything. Man Down is a great book. No one is writing about young men's lives with as much warmth, empathy and humour as James Goodhand is right now. -- Samuel Pollen, author of The Year I Didn't Eat An excellent look at what it means to 'be a man' amid a culture of peer pressure and toxic masculinity while navigating desire and friendship. Loved it. * Anna Stevens, author of Godblind * Emotionally complex, dark and clever - a very unexpected, thoughtful and original book. I can honestly think of no other YA quite like it. * Gina Blaxill, author of Saving Silence * A gritty, gripping tale of a young man searching for meaning in a life that's far from ordinary. * Malcolm Duffy, author of Sofa Surfer *